Anonymous




Register
Login

Amiga Future

Community

Knowledge

Last Magazine

The Amiga Future 153 will be released on the 4th November.

The Amiga Future 153 will be released on the 4th November.
The Amiga Future 153 will be released on the 4th November.

The Amiga Future 153 will be released on the 4th November.
More informations

Service

Search




Advanced search

Unanswered topics
Active topics

Social Media

Twitter Amigafuture Facebook Amigafuture RSS-Feed [german] Amigafuture RSS-Feed [english] Instagram YouTube Patreon

Advertisement

Amazon

Patreon

Partnerlinks

Host lookup failed, no DNS entry found --SOLVED--

Support Roadshow

Moderators: AndreasM, olsen

Post Reply
fairdinkem
Grade reingestolpert
Grade reingestolpert
Posts: 4
Joined: 11.10.2021 - 07:07

Host lookup failed, no DNS entry found --SOLVED--

Post by fairdinkem »

Hi,

I just purchased the latest roadshow TCP stack and I have had it working on my current network using a CNet ethernet adapter. I recently upgraded my A1200T with a TF1260, mediator, Radeon 9200 Pro, Spider USB and a fast ethernet card.

Symptoms - I am able to configure roadshow and after doing so when I use iBrowse it will time out with the following error "Host lookup failed, no DNS entry found". I can't ping the google DNS server 8.8.8.8 and I can't ping the router either.

IMG_1863.jpg
IMG_1863.jpg (21.34 KiB) Viewed 314 times
IMG_1861.jpg
IMG_1861.jpg (72.53 KiB) Viewed 314 times
IMG_1862.jpg
IMG_1862.jpg (178.7 KiB) Viewed 314 times

What I have tried - I have clean installed AmigaOS 3.2, I have tried a clean install of AmigaOS 3.9 with boing bags 1 and 2. I have tried 3 different modem routers, I have gone directly into the modem router and not using a switch or router in between the computer and modem router.

I hope someone can help me out.
Last edited by fairdinkem on 28.10.2021 - 10:19, edited 1 time in total.
fairdinkem
Grade reingestolpert
Grade reingestolpert
Posts: 4
Joined: 11.10.2021 - 07:07

Re: Host lookup failed, no DNS entry found

Post by fairdinkem »

Well after 20+ views - no reply.

I also sent an email to the roadshow developer and I got no reply after posting on the official Roadshow facebook page for support with my issue I was directed to send an email.

Does anyone have another option/idea I can explore for support?
fairdinkem
Grade reingestolpert
Grade reingestolpert
Posts: 4
Joined: 11.10.2021 - 07:07

Re: Host lookup failed, no DNS entry found

Post by fairdinkem »

UPDATE

If I use GENISIS tcp stack or MiamiDX TCP stack and configure my IP, Subnet, Gateway and DNS manually and don't select DHCP I am able to make it work. I have tried using Roadie GUI to configure roadshow with the same details I have used successfully with Genisis and MiamiDX I still cannot ping google etc.

So I know my IP address, Subnet address, Gateway address and I can add 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 for DNS.

Please could someone help?
olsen
CygnusEd Developer
Posts: 144
Joined: 06.06.2006 - 16:27

Re: Host lookup failed, no DNS entry found

Post by olsen »

fairdinkem wrote: 16.10.2021 - 05:37 UPDATE

If I use GENISIS tcp stack or MiamiDX TCP stack and configure my IP, Subnet, Gateway and DNS manually and don't select DHCP I am able to make it work. I have tried using Roadie GUI to configure roadshow with the same details I have used successfully with Genisis and MiamiDX I still cannot ping google etc.

So I know my IP address, Subnet address, Gateway address and I can add 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 for DNS.

Please could someone help?
I'm sorry, this is a lot to take in, I'm afraid.

It is odd to see that the DHCP server configuration seems to succeed, yet general network access being still unavailable. Your screenshot IMG_1861.jpg shows that the system time is currently set to 1991, which will not affect DHCP operations.

You have used Roadie for setting up your system. While it should get the job done, I suggest going back to the stock configuration files for Roadshow. It is easier to figure out how the DHCP negotiation proceeds and what it does.

Could you copy the stock "MediatorFast" interface file for Roadshow into your "DEVS:NetInterfaces" drawer? It should look like this:

Code: Select all

# $VER: MediatorFast 1.4 (12.12.2012)
#
# Configuration for the Elbox "Mediator" FastEthernet.device

# The device name is mandatory
device=FastEthernet.device

# If not provided, unit number 0 will be used. You may
# have to change this if there are multiple cards of the
# same type installed in your machine, or if your network
# hardware supports several independent connections
#unit=0

# You must either pick a fixed (static) IPv4 address and
# a corresponding subnet mask, or request DHCP (dynamic)
# network address configuration.
# You can combine address/netmask/dhcp, which has the effect
# of asking the DHCP server to assign the requested IPv4
# address and subnet mask to this interface, if possible.
#address=192.168.1.102
#netmask=255.255.255.0
configure=dhcp

# If no DHCP server is present in your network, you can
# use automatic interface IPv4 address assignment through
# the ZeroConf protocol. Note that this will not set up
# default route and DNS servers for you, only the interface
# address is configured.
#configure=auto

# This variant of automatic IPv4 address assignment should
# be used in a wireless network instead of 'configure=auto'
#configure=fastauto

# You can enable diagnostic messages which can be helpful in
# tracking down configuration errors.
#debug=yes

# You can choose how much memory will be used when handling
# incoming and outgoing network traffic for this device.
# The default is to reserve 32 buffers of 1500 byte each, both
# inbound and outbound traffic. Larger values may provide
# better performance.
#iprequests=32
#writerequests=32

# For diagnostic and monitoring purposes it can be helpful to
# capture network traffic that flows through this interface.
# To enable this option, select one of filter=local,
# filter=ipandarp or filter=everything
#filter=local
#filter=ipandarp
#filter=everything

# This option disables a workaround required for the Ariadne
# network hardware, which, if enabled, would otherwise cause
# the interface setup procedure to take longer than really
# necessary.
requiresinitdelay=no
That file needs one change, made using a text editor, so that the DHCP process of negotiating the network configuration, including the DNS settings, is printed when you start Roadshow. That reads as follows:

Code: Select all

# You can enable diagnostic messages which can be helpful in
# tracking down configuration errors.
#debug=yes
Please change #debug=yes into debug=yes.

Next up are the routing and name resolution configuration files in the "DEVS:Internet" drawer. The stock "DEVS:Internet/routes" file should look like this:

Code: Select all

# $VER: routes 1.1 (24.10.2010)
#
# Routes which should be established when the protocol stack
# initializes itself. Each line corresponds to a route which should
# be established, very much like the parameters passed to the
# AddNetRoute command. The template is:
#
#  DST=DESTINATION/K,HOSTDST=HOSTDESTINATION/K,NETDST=NETDESTINATION/K,
#  VIA=GATEWAY/K,DEFAULT=DEFAULTGATEWAY/K
#
# You must either specify the default route, or specify a route with a
# destination address. Note that no duplicates are allowed, i.e. there
# can be only a single default route and the same route may not be
# established twice.
#default localhost
Nothing should be in there, interfering with what the DHCP negotiation will pick.

The stock "DEVS:Internet/name_resolution" file should look like this:

Code: Select all

# $VER: name_resolution 1.2 (29.3.2020)
#
# This file is used by the name resolution process which associates
# raw IP addresses with domain names and the other way round. You
# can configure the addresses of the domain name system servers to
# use and how the lookup process will translate host names you provide
# before they are looked up.

# You can specify the IP addresses of up to three domain name system
# servers which will be queried in the order you provide here. Each
# line must start with 'nameserver' and then must be followed by
# an IP address.
#nameserver 192.168.0.1
#nameserver 192.168.0.2
#nameserver 192.168.0.3

# If a host name is to be looked up which has no trailing domain
# name attached, a default domain name can be appended to it
# prior to lookup
#domain name.com

# You can configure the list of host names for lookup. The search list
# is normally determined from the local domain name; by default, it
# begins with the local domain name, then successive parent domains that
# have at least two components in their names will be searched. This may
# be changed by listing the desired domain search path following the 'search'
# keyword with spaces or tabs separating the names. Up to six domain
# names may be listed.
#search my.first.domain my.second.domain

# The 'sortlist' parameter allows addresses returned by the name
# resolution process to be sorted. A sortlist is specified by IP address
# netmask pairs. The netmask is optional and defaults to the natural
# netmask of the net. The IP address and optional network pairs are separated
# by slashes. Up to 10 pairs may be specified.
#sortlist 130.155.160.0/255.255.240.0 130.155.0.0

# The dynamic configuration process for network interfaces (DHCP) may
# provide a set of domain name system servers. These dynamically-configured
# servers will always be consulted first before the statically-configured
# servers are queried. These statically-configured servers are set up in
# this file through the 'nameserver' configuration entries.
#
# You may prefer to use the statically-configured servers over the
# dynamically-configured servers, e.g. because they may be slower or
# unreliable. If this is the case, use the 'prefer static' option
# below, instead of the 'prefer dynamic' (the default).
#prefer static
prefer dynamic
Note the prefer dynamic at the end. Please leave it in as is.

With these settings, could you restart Roadshow? When starting, it should show how the DHCP negotiation progressed in a window which opens as part of that process.

At this stage, can you try the "traceroute" command, e.g. by entering "traceroute 8.8.8.8" in a shell? Does the name resolution still fail if you enter "ping www.google.com", for example?

How does your Ethernet card fit into the known-supported hardware list on http://www.elbox.com/mediator_driver_gu ... l#ETHERNET? DId you set any environment variable as detailed in https://mediators.github.io?
fairdinkem
Grade reingestolpert
Grade reingestolpert
Posts: 4
Joined: 11.10.2021 - 07:07

Re: Host lookup failed, no DNS entry found

Post by fairdinkem »

Hi Olsen,

Thank you for your reply and support.

I tried all the steps you suggested however nothing worked. I purchased a mediator pack from Amigastore.eu and they supplied the RTL8139D TPLink ethernet card with it so I assumed it was compatible. I decided based on a hunch that the card may not indeed be compatible as I did not see a TPLink card listed on the Elbox website I also had this sinking feeling as AmigaStore.eu also sold me an incompatible Radeon 9200Pro with the mediator pack. I remembered having an ethernet card in my Pegasos2 so I took it out and put it in the Amiga 1200 and what do you know it works perfectly.

Thank you once again for the support.
olsen
CygnusEd Developer
Posts: 144
Joined: 06.06.2006 - 16:27

Re: Host lookup failed, no DNS entry found

Post by olsen »

fairdinkem wrote: 28.10.2021 - 10:19 Hi Olsen,

Thank you for your reply and support.

I tried all the steps you suggested however nothing worked. I purchased a mediator pack from Amigastore.eu and they supplied the RTL8139D TPLink ethernet card with it so I assumed it was compatible. I decided based on a hunch that the card may not indeed be compatible as I did not see a TPLink card listed on the Elbox website I also had this sinking feeling as AmigaStore.eu also sold me an incompatible Radeon 9200Pro with the mediator pack. I remembered having an ethernet card in my Pegasos2 so I took it out and put it in the Amiga 1200 and what do you know it works perfectly.

Thank you once again for the support.
Happy to hear that there was a solution which made sense :-)

The issues you reported sounded like nothing that could be explained by configuration or software issues alone. So it turned out to be a hardware issue after all. Sorry for your trouble with the hardware :-(

amigastore.eu as one of the few specialized Amiga hardware sellers ought to have been more diligent.
Post Reply